Meet Us at Paris Air Show from June 17th to 21st !

RAF Technology®: Large metal additive manufacturing, in titanium or hard alloy, for competitively priced structural parts

ADVANTAGES

By developing Rapid Additive Forging technology, Prodways has developed an innovative process focused on metallurgical quality and repeatability in an industrial setting.

Image

Uncompromising metallurgy

Rapid Additive Forging technology was developed to serve demanding markets such as the aerospace market, where high-performance alloys like titanium are important. The parts produced with this technology meet this sector’s requirements, both in terms of metallurgical performance and traceability.

Shorter lead times

It can take several months to machine a new tool. This can be a real obstacle to the successful development of projects with tight deadlines that require a small series of parts. Rapid Additive Forging technology makes it possible to obtain large-sized blanks with the same mechanical properties as forged blanks in a matter of days. And this can be done for individual parts or for mass production.

Reduced costs

Rapid Additive Forging technology allows the printing of a metal blank close to the final dimensions, therefore, little machining is required to obtain the desired part. Material loss is reduced and the buy-to-fly ratio is improved by up to 75% compared to conventionally machined parts. This reduction in material consumption and the shorter machining times reduce the cost of delivered parts by up to 40%.

TECHNOLOGY THAT IS _

Rapid Additive Forging technology is a reliable and robust technology based on three years of R&D in the field of additive manufacturing. It is the most competitive industrial process on the market for 3D titanium wire arc printing.

Image

TECHNOLOGY

Prodways developed Rapid Additive Forging technology based on its expertise as an integrated player in 3D printing and by relying on the know-how in robotics and special machines of the Gorgé Group subsidiaries, of which Prodways belongs. The result is a proprietary industrial technology.

Patented process

Large part size

Metallurgical quality

Competitive

Rapid Additive Forging (patent pending) is part of the Wire Arc Additive Manufacturing (WAAM) technology family. This technology makes it possible to create a blank in successive layers which is very close to the finished dimensions. This blank is then machined to obtain the final part. The advantage lies in the savings of material, the large part sizes that can be produced and the considerable reduction in machining time. After three years of R&D, Prodways has produced a reliable industrial machine which uses a process that is more competitive than other comparable technologies.

Closed-loop supervision

Repeatable metallurgical quality

Traceability to aerospace standards

One reason for the success of Rapid Additive Forging technology is the closed loop supervision system. Not only does manufacturing require little human supervision, but production parameters are automatically adjusted as the part is being manufactured, ensuring optimal quality and repeatability. All key parameters are recorded and a production report is available for each part produced.
Image

Advanced metallurgy

Absence of porosity

Mechanical characteristics at the same level as forged parts

Excellent properties in all directions

Homogeneous layered construction

Lower-cost parts would be of limited value if their performance were inferior to the same parts made with a conventional process. This is why the engineers and researchers behind this process have focused all their attention on obtaining sound parts which have the same excellent qualities and characteristics as forged parts.

Download the material data sheet

The advantages of wire

Raw material for the process available from stock

No health, safety and environment problems

The wire-based additive manufacturing process is relatively unknown in comparison with powder bed manufacture. However, in addition to providing exceptional results, the use of wire offers many advantages for manufacturers.

Rapid Additive Forging technology has revolutionized small and medium series production. The design is the same as for machined or forged parts, costs and lead times are reduced, and the characteristics comply with aerospace standards.

OFFERING

Prodways markets both Rapid Additive Forging machines and parts. Parts are blanks or finished parts, produced using the Rapid Additive Forging technology.

Image

Finished parts

Production of finished parts using Rapid Additive Forging. Machined, inspected and delivered by our partner, a tier 1 aerospace supplier. The finished parts are competitively priced and meet aerospace quality standards.

Image

Blanks

Manufacture of blanks which are close to the final dimensions, intended for direct machining or forging. Prodways therefore enables manufacturers to save on their material costs, because they can purchase only the quantity needed for the final part.

Image

Machines

Marketing the ProMaker RAF 50, designed for medium-sized structural parts with simple or complex geometries. The maximum part size can be increased by enlarging the machine’s inert gas chamber.

Materials

Titanium alloys such as TA6V are suitable for industrial applications.

RAF technology was developed for this material because the high cost of titanium and the complex machining involved in producing these parts make the RAF process extremely attractive.


Prodways RAF has the expertise to work on the development of other alloys such as:

Aluminum alloys

Stainless steels

Nickel-based steels

Tool steels

 

ProMaker RAF 50 features

Part dimensions (max)1200 x 800 x 500 mm
DED technologyArc
AccessibilityFront panel with overhead crane access, glove box and maintenance door
Inerting3 sources
Software featuresHMI interface, CAD slicing software, full traceability
Closed loop supervisionProcess adjustment based in particular on the part’s thermal and dimensional data

AVANTAGES

En développant la technologie Rapid Additive Forging, Prodways a mis au point un procédé innovant, centré sur la qualité métallurgique et la répétabilité dans un contexte industriel.

mur titane fabrication additive rapide additive forging prodways RAF technology. Titanium wall

Une métallurgie sans compromis

La technologie Rapid Additive Forging a été développée pour servir des marchés éxigeants tel que l' aéronautique, où les alliages performants comme le titane sont valorisés. Les pièces produites avec cette technologie répondent aux exigences du secteur, aussi bien en termes de performances métallurgiques que de traçabilité.

Des délais plus courts

En matriçage, réaliser des outils demande plusieurs mois. Cela peut être un véritable obstacle au bon développement d’un projet qui requiert une petite série de pièces avec des délais serrés. La technologie Rapid Additive Forging permet d’obtenir des ébauches de grandes dimensions ayant les mêmes propriétés mécaniques qu’un forgé en un délai réduit à quelques jours. Et ce, aussi bien pour de la pièce unitaire que pour de la série.

Des coûts
réduits

La technologie Rapid Additive Forging permet l'impression d’une ébauche en métal proche des cotes finales, il y a ainsi peu d’usinage nécessaire pour obtenir la pièce voulue. La perte de matériau est réduite, et la mise au mille (buy to fly ratio) est améliorée de jusqu’à 75% en comparaison à une pièce usinée dans la masse. Cette réduction de la consommation de matière et des temps d’usinage plus courts entraînent une diminution de coût de la pièce livrée qui peut atteindre 40%.

UNE TECHNOLOGIE _

La technologie Rapid Additive Forging est une technologie fiable et robuste qui repose sur trois années de R&D dans le domaine de la fabrication additive. C’est le procédé industriel le plus compétitif du marché de l'impression 3D titane arc-fil.

Prodways Promaker RAF 50 3D printing titanium Rapid additive Forging

TECHNOLOGIE

Prodways a développé la technologie Rapid Additive Forging grâce à son expertise d’acteur intégré de l’impression 3D, et en s’appuyant sur le savoir faire en robotique et machines spéciales des filiales du Groupe Gorgé, dont Prodways fait partie. Le résultat est une technologie propriétaire, 100% française et industrielle.

Procédé breveté

Pièce de grande taille

Qualité métallurgique

Compétitif

Rapid Additive Forging, avec un brevet en cours de dépose, fait partie de la famille des technologies par dépôt de fil dites "WAAM" (Wire Arc Additive Manufacturing). Cette technologie permet de construire, par couches successives, une ébauche de pièce très proche des cotes finies. Cette ébauche est ensuite usinée pour obtenir la pièce finale. L’intérêt réside dans le gain de matière mis en œuvre, la grande taille des pièces que l'on peut réaliser et le temps d’usinage qui est considérablement réduit. Au terme de trois années de R&D, Prodways a abouti à une machine qui est fiable, industrielle, et un procédé plus compétitif que d’autres technologies comparables.

Supervision en boucle fermée

Répétabilité de la qualité métallurgique

Traçabilité aux standards aéronautiques

Une raison du succès de la technologie Rapid Additive Forging est le système de supervision en boucle fermée. D’une part, la fabrication nécessite peu de supervision humaine, d’autre part, les paramètres de production sont automatiquement ajustés au cours de la fabrication de la pièce, assurant qualité optimale et répétabilité. Tous les paramètres clés sont enregistrés et un rapport de production est disponible pour chaque pièce produite.
3D printing titanium part with prodways rapid additive forging

Métallurgie de pointe

Absence de porosité

Caractéristiques mécaniques au même niveau que les pièces forgées

Excellentes propriétés dans toutes les directions

Construction en couches homogènes

Des pièces à moindre coût auraient un intérêt limité si leurs performances étaient inférieures à leurs homologues réalisées avec un procédé conventionnel. C’est pourquoi les ingénieurs et chercheurs à l’origine de ce procédé ont focalisé toute leur attention sur l’obtention de pièces saines ayant d’aussi bonnes caractéristiques que des pièces forgées.

Télécharger la fiche matériaux ici

Avantage du fil

Matière première du procédé disponible sur stock

Aucune problématique HSE

La fabrication additive à base de fil reste méconnue en comparaison à la fabrication sur lit de poudre. Pourtant, en plus de permettre des performances exceptionnelles, le recours au fil présente de nombreux intérêts pour l’industriel.

La technologie Rapid Additive Forging révolutionne la production de petite et moyenne série : le design reste celui d’une pièce usinée ou matricée, le coût et les délais sont réduits, les caractéristiques sont conformes aux normes de l’aéronautique.

OFFRE

La société Prodways Rapid Additve Forging commercialise les  machines utilisant sa technologie, la réalisation d’ ébauches ou des pieces finies.

finished machined titanium part in rapid additive forging. Made by Prodways

Pièces finies

Réalisation de pièces finies à partir de Rapid Additive Forging. Parachevée, contrôlée et livrée par notre partenaire, fournisseur aéronautique de rang 1. Les pièces finies sont à un prix compétitif et avec les standards de qualité aéronautique.

Ebauche d'usinage titane réalisée avec Prodways Rapid Additive Forging

Ébauche

Fabrication d' ébauches proches des côtes finales, destinées à être directement usinées ou matricées. Prodways peut donc permettre aux industriels d’économiser sur leurs coûts matières en achetant uniquement la quantité utile à la fonction finale.

Prodways Promaker RAF 50. Titanium 3D Printing . Rapid Additive forging

Machine

Commercialisation de la Promaker RAF 50, conçue pour des pièces de structure de taille intermédiaire, avec des géométries simples ou complexes. La taille maximale des pièces peut être augmentée en agrandissant la chambre d’inertage de la machine.

Matériaux

Les alliages de titane tels que le TA6V sont exploitables pour des applications industrielles.

La technologie RAF a été développée pour ce matériau, car le coût élevé du titane et sa complexité d’usinage rendent le procédé extrêmement attractif. 

C’est fort de se savoir faire que Prodways RAF travaille au développement d’autres alliages tels que :

Alliages d’aluminium

Aciers inoxydables

Aciers base nickel

Aciers d’outillage

 

Caractéristiques
Promaker RAF 50

Dimensions pièce (max)1200 x 800 x 500 mm
DED technologieArc
Accessibilité3: face avant avec accès par pont, boite à gant et porte de maintenance
Inertage3 sources
Caractéristiques logicielInterface IHM, logiciel de slicing de la CAO, traçabilité complète
Supervision boucle ferméeAjustement du process à partir notamment des données thermiques et dimensionnelles de la pièce